Iron Lego Man

I wanted to create a short 3D lego fight scene all in After Effects just to see what was possible.

Here was my process:

I used LEOcad to find the lego pieces that I wanted to use and individually exported each piece as its own OBJ.

I imported the OBJs into Video Copilot’s Element 3D and assembled them so they would be ready to animate straight in After Effects.

Then I just started animating and it evolved from there. I started with Iron Man and added the others as I went along. Using wireframes just helped with previewing faster.

  

Next it was time to add some lasers! I am a big fan of Video Copilot so I used Optical Flares and Saber Plugins. VC

Then it was time to put them all together and I was very happy with how it turned out.

Then I threw some NYC stock footage in just for fun.

One thought on “Iron Lego Man

Leave a Reply

